top of page

Equal Opportunity Boy Band-ing

I'm a unicorn in the fan space. When I like something, I don't just like it. I love it. It's both a blessing and a curse because I can't focus on just one thing. I have to love everything and everyone and figure out how to divide my time and devotion equally. That's hard to do in the boy band space. I admit, I have bias. *NSYNC are always going to be my number one. But does that mean I curse every other boy band and put shame on their name? No. I go see the Backstreet Boys, BTS, One Direction, BBMak, Hanson, etc. etc. If you name a boy band, I have probably heard of them, seen them, like them, know a song or two from back in the day. Does that make me any less dedicated than the fan that's seen (insert group here) 50 times? I don't think it does! I go to the events, I meet people, I enjoy every single experience I've had. Here's a little trip through my memory lane and my history with boy bands.

In the '90s, I was a pre-teen, and at the perfect age to start my boy band education. I didn't really know too much about who came before. I didn't have an older sister or family members to guide me. I was 11 going on 12 in 1997 and that's what really started it all. Hanson released MMMBop in March of 1997 and that's all it took. Three blonds from Tulsa, Oklahoma singing about lasting friendship and I was hooked.


I was already buying the teen magazines. I was obsessed with Jonathan Taylor Thomas and every teen actor of the day. Continuing to buy the magazines wasn't a stretch. But with more and more bands showing up on the covers, all of them were absolutely irresistible to me -- BB, Bop, Teen Beat, Tiger Beat. I bought them all.



Then I just had to see them. I had to see them in person. My very first Hanson concert was July 15, 1998 at the Shoreline Amphitheater. I went with my mom and my best friend Jaymie. We were in Row V and I swear, they were staring right at me! I've been to concerts before but going to this one ignited something in me that I still feel every time I'm at a show. It's the excitement, the camaraderie, the familiarity, the music, absolutely everything about concerts -- but especially the music.


That was it. From that point, I was a fan. I was a fan who had to go to this concert or that concert or this event or that. I had a very understanding, supportive mother who wanted to give me everything and she so often did.


The next big, big show was *NSYNC at the Memorial Amphitheater in my hometown of Sacramento, California. It was the show to go to. It was their very first tour and they had just exploded on the scene thanks to their huge Disney Channel special. Britney Spears and Irish powerhouse girl group B*Witched were opening for them and I was EXCITED.


I went with, again, my best friend Jaymie (pictured above) and our friend from school, Versha (also pictured next to us but she hated having her photo taken), both of my parents (who are divorced but were trying to be supportive when I was a kid), and my aunt. Yes, tickets were so cheap that we just brought EVERYONE along. It was such a small venue. I graduated from high school there! But they only got bigger from there!


Since my mom didn't like traveling too far on her own for shows (San Francisco, she was unfamiliar with so she deemed it too far, but LA was easy because we knew it since we're originally from there), I went to most of the *NSYNC shows in Sacramento and in the surrounding Bay Area with friends. For example, went with friends in high school to the show in Oakland where Pink and A*TEENS opened for them.

I also went to the 1998 Billboard Music Awards because that was MECCA for boy bands with everyone under the same roof. My dad lived in Vegas so it wasn't a stretch to get there. My parents just had to wait while I stuck my head to the door to listen to soundchecks and screamed every time I recognized someone. That first photo was me trying to meet a boy band, ANY BOY BAND. And you know what? I did...eventually.


I spent practically the entirety of my childhood obsessed with these groups even international boy bands! Do you know how hard it was being a fan of Boyzone or the Spice Girls or soulDecision or Westlife without the constant access that fans across the pond had? It took me A DAY to download a 30-second clip of a music video. Kids today with their YouTube. They have it so easy. *shakes a fist*


So I spent a good chunk of my adult life doing the things that 12-year-old me could only dream about. I met the people I admired, the guys I spent HOURS listening to on my stereo. Childhood me could only dream about what adult me has been capable of achieving.

Childhood me would never have had the opportunity to spend time with 98 Degrees watching their latest music video being shot at the Roosevelt Hotel. But it happened through a Twitter contest, no less!




Childhood me only got to see them once at a radio concert.

Adult me has made it my life's purpose to see them as often as possible.

Childhood me thought this was impossible. Adult me doesn't believe in impossible.


Being in the front row of a live show has only ever been a dream of mine but having it happen multiple times is completely surreal.




Movie premieres with Sarah.




Meeting Joey post-Rock of Ages in Vegas!

When it was announced in 2018 that *NSYNC would receive their star on Hollywood's Walk of Fame, I knew that it was our time to shine again. The last time the guys got together as an actual group was too long ago. I was still in high school, the boy band era of the '90s was dying and fading into the 2000s but we held on and hanging on now meant attending the Walk of Fame ceremony.


I didn't live too far from Hollywood at the time so I went to check out the exterior of the *NSYNC pop-up shop that was going to open before the ceremony. Armed with old *NSYNC tour programs, my TRL shirt, I went off with my friend Allison and we took plenty of pictures before the opening.



My friend Sarah (who, in her own right, is an *NSYNC megafan and has joined me for almost ALL boy band adventures), missed seeing us minutes since we'd already left. We were on the phone when I heard her say hello to someone. She whispered into the phone, "JC and Lance just walked by." I was driving home and immediately hung a U-turn.


I was two minutes away from my house when I hung up, called Allison, and told her to get back into my car. I had already dropped her off.



Patience pays off. Hours after they had completed their interviews for the day, we got to meet JC and Lance just hours before their big day. It was a cloud nine moment. Seeing two members of your favorite group since childhood just before they're receiving their star on the Walk of Fame? Childhood me couldn't even dream of something like this. Maybe in fanfic but not in real life.

Boy band fans know the score. If they say "no camping overnight," it means you have to get there hours in advance. Boy band fans and fans in general are "waiters." We'll wait for HOURS to get a glimpse of things and people we love. It's all part of the experience. It's all being part of the moment.


At 10:00 p.m. we arrived to a line, got our chairs, and hunkered down for the evening. For videos of the experience, feel free to check me out on instagram @aimeecurameng. My stories for the day are under the *NSYNC circle.


News crews started arriving around 5:00 a.m. We were given wristbands where at least some 40+ people cut in front of us in line but absolutely NOTHING could dampen our spirits. We were about to see the group as a whole for the first time in DECADES.

We picked an incredible spot right where they came out and sat down before going to the podium.




Our excitement was palpable and we sang Tearin' Up My Heart with the crowd loudly and proudly.



I said to myself, "We won't be on camera. We're too far back." Boy, was I wrong.


Before the ceremony, we went to the Dirty Pop pop-up store, a store filled with *NSYNC memorabilia from the past and items that could only be purchased in the shop. I walked in and never wanted to leave.


When I tell you my room looked almost identical to this...


The entire weekend was life-changing. Everything I wanted as a kid came true. Meeting members of your favorite group, getting to see them in person again so, so close, getting to show our appreciation as a group, showing them how much we still love them. It's the thing that keeps me going in adulthood and why I will forever stick with the people I love because I relive and experience that feeling again, the same feeling that started when I was 12 continues at 37. It's not immaturity and there's no part of me that fantasizes of what will never be. I've always been a realist and a pragmatist at heart. But chasing that joy will never not be something I don't enjoy. I will continue to enjoy it for as long as I'm able and that's why I continue to be a boy band fan.


BONUS BOY BAND-ING!


Being an international boy band fan was difficult.

Had to raid the imports section of Virgin Megastore more than once.

I was a huge fan of Boyzone, 5ive, Steps, Code Red, and so many more.



BBMak then...

BBMak now.

These guys and their music continues to bring me an unbelievable amount of joy.

Yes, this shirt has definitely seen its way through various meet and greets.

If you were to ask anyone who knew me in childhood who my favorite band was, they would tell you it was The Moffatts. The Moffatts are a set of brothers, much like Hanson, who were from Canada (unlike Hanson). Their first major concert in America post-Caterpillar Crawl was at a showcase in Los Angeles. The advertisement read, "If you like *NSYNC and Hanson, this is the band for you!" They first played at the Century Club in Century City, CA. I was one of the first people there. The promoter was so surprised someone flew in front a different city that I was given the VIP treatment.


But I was 13 and I didn't know how to react or how to meet people. I was on Access Hollywood that night, though! For video, click https://youtu.be/X4B1KsWoPgk.



A sign I made for one of their shows that they later signed.

Meeting The Moffatts backstage with Jaymie in Vancouver.





Meeting soulDecision at TOWER RECORDS and seeing OTown at the El Rey.


Had to check out what this One Direction group was all about at the Rose Bowl!


And if you thought my first time for a boy band at the Walk of Fame was *NSYNC, you'd be wrong!

I'm a New Kids on the Block fan, too. :)

It's a Donnie and Jordan sandwich.




Since I dabble in photography, I've even had my boy band photography featured on Joey McIntyre's show "Return of the Mac" that aired on Pop!

With the man himself.

At a showing of the Boy Band Con.



Lance and Mr. Ashley Parker Angel while wearing my BBMak shirt.


My shirt made a trip to ground zero for all things Total Request Live. I was never able to go as a kid but I made sure to go whenever I get the chance now! And that's Danny from The Script formerly of the boy band Mytown.


And naturally, I'm Army now converted by my best friend, Michaela.

bottom of page