top of page

Birthday Vacation! Day 1 + 2 recap.

I moved to Las Vegas in September of 2020. I've lived in Los Angeles for most of my life with a stint in Northern California for my more formative years. But with the cost of living increases, rising rent, and the anxiety of the pandemic, I needed a change and I needed it quickly. More on this later, but it's important to know since I'm now a visitor to California instead of a resident! Still, living in Las Vegas means Los Angeles is only a drive or quick flight away. I like driving. I love getting to listen and sing along to my music on the road. I love throwing things in the car that I may or may not need and taking it all to a hotel. I'm an overpreparer so I'd rather have things than not have them. I usually spend birthdays at the Happiest Place on Earth and with Disney closed last year, I missed my chance! But I was not missing it this year.


On Sunday, February 27th, I rented a car, and mom and I were off to Anaheim. NOT SO FAST, said the traffic from Las Vegas to Southern California on a Sunday at noon. "We're going to make you stop several times on the freeway because of traffic." I was lucky. The last time I drove to LA wasn't terrible, but Sunday was pretty bad and what would've been a four-hour trip took an additional two hours. Insert crying emoji here. Still, we made it to the hotel where I took my Panda Express (a purchase I make every time we stop in Barstow) and ate it happily while both mom and I rested from the trip.


Day two at the parks started beautifully! It was my birthday, February 28th. I've come to a lot of different realizations over the years and that includes the idea that I'm not very comfortable with my birthday. It has a lot to do regarding being an adoptee and my feelings surrounding the date. So I usually try to do things that make me happy. Sometimes I put too much pressure on myself to enjoy the day. (It did it once that day.) But I promised myself I'd take it easy and just try to have a good time.



The characters came out in the morning to say hello! We have Minnie, Goofy, Pluto, and Mickey.

Love taking a walk by the castle.

First ride of day was Dumbo! I just wanted to fly.

Snow White quickly becoming a favorite of mine because of the new additions.

Princess Tiana's on my shirt so I NEEDED a photo.

Belle said one of the greatest things I ever heard. She told me that Gaston scheduled their wedding for February 31st.After I died laughing, she glanced over at him like, "What an idiot." I love her so much.

He said, "You're welcome for flexing on your birthday." Oh, Gaston.

Off to California Adventure because I needed some Magic Key Holder items!

Throughout the month of February, they were celebrating Magic Key Passes which are the new annual passes for Disneyland. I was surprised they really had things left for the end of the month because Disneyland usually doesn't care if they have anything left.

Yay! Free sunnies and a transportation poster that featured The Disneyland Railroad,

Autopia, Submarine, and the Buena Vista Street Trolley.



It was the hottest day of the week but we still had our favorite clam chowder bowl

and I got the ramen from Lucky Fortune Cookery.

Then topped it all off with a frozen hot cocoa and ice cream from Ghirardellis!

FIND ME!

Back over for Big Thunder because that's mom's favorite ride,

but then we decided to go on the Mark Twain instead.

Just a hop skip and a jump from Winnie the Pooh because it's the best birthday ride! And then it got dark and time kind of got away from me. I wanted to leave earlier in the day since I was coming back a few days later,but "earlier" turned into almost park closing. 😂 I went on Haunted Mansion and then back to the hotel!

Mom and I took a TON of cute photos at the entrance.


Magic Key Passholders got 1 of 2 Magic Shots! This was the first at Disneyland.

We got Peter Pan's shadow and I loved the way this turned out.

Second Magic Shot was an adorable Steamboat Mickey!

Ton of cute ones at the Partners Statue!

Can't forget the famous Tink shot!

I love this one and it makes me happy.


End of the first day at Disney! Had a really wonderful birthday and always grateful for the greetings I receive throughout the day. Coming soon, part two!





bottom of page